New Accidental Recipe: Carob Kisses

aka Carob ‘Hershey’ Squirts:

OK, today’s recipe is the result of ANOTHER mistake!Click here to see last weeks Disaster-turned-success.

I wanted to bring Miss Janetha something home-made but Plan A (nut butters) were making my Vitamix die, so I needed a plan B.(I did end up with a batch of pecan butter, for the record).

Anyway, I wanted to make something along the lines of HEAB’s Maple Oaties (because, trust me— they are aMAZing), but I didn’t have any maple syrup and I didn’t want to use too many oats.

When the V-mix cried Uncle with the almonds, I sure as heck was NOT going to waste $15 worth of organic almonds!So I transferred what was now almond meal into a bowl and proceeded to make SOMETHING…ANYTHING out of it!

You’ll soon come to learn that I am an ‘improv’ gal in the kitchen.For someone who was previously obsessed with weighing and measuring, I find I ironic that for some recipes, my M.O. is more like ‘a little of this’ and ‘a pinch of that’.Bad for relaying recipes to my readers…Bad, Bad blogger!

Here was my Plan B:Just start throwing things into a bowl.But before I give you the recipe, I want to show you some photos of these little gems.Take a gander a these…


Cute, right?

I fashioned them after Hershey’s Kisses, but when I was finished I realized that they looked like turds.So I have nicknamed them Carob ‘Hershey’ Squirts.And since I hadn’t measured a thing, I will give you general ideas of amounts used…

OK here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • A Sh*tload of almonds
  • A Cr*pload of dried coconut shreds
  • A scant B*ttload of agave syrup
  • A Medium Plop of Oats
  • A Small Plop of Carob Powder (roasted is tastiest)

Method:

·Beat the cr*p out of the almonds in a machine that isn’t so expensive that it won’t force you to sell your car in order to buy food when it breaks. A food processor can handle the job.

·‘Dump’ dry ingredients into bowl and mix together

·‘Squirt’ agave onto the ‘pile’ (just BARELY enough to hold mixture together without being too moist)

·Dawn latex or vinyl gloves (no, trust me on this- you want to do this, really. Muck under the nails=not good)

·Form little kisses or poop-shaped mounds on a nonstick surface.

Then you have a choice:

·If you want them raw (all of the ingredients above can be RAW, isn’t that great!?), then just refrigerate or freeze and enjoy.

·If you want them baked but dry, then put them in the oven at about 325F.Bake til desired consistency is reached.

·If you want some hot, steamy carob turds then use a steamer (in batches) or steamer oven if you have one for 15-20 minutes.


My New Toy:The Steamer Oven:

Actually this oven is a triple threat: a microwave, a convection oven and a steam and steam/convection oven. It was a splurge for the kitchen remodel (photos will follow I promise, when we move out of boxes and make order!) So we’ve been using it a lot.


I didn’t want these little guys to dry out so that is why I chose the steamer function. If you look closely, you can see them inside. Am I the only one who find them sooo cute!?

Follow along with me in negotiating this menu- it cracked me up. (BTW, you KNOW I didn’t read the instructions as usual.Bad, bad):


OK, Automatic Sounds good.Less work for me, right?


Balanced?I should think so- it has a few carbs, some healthy fats, and protein- yes I’d say it’s balanced.


Brunch?Well, SURE!Why not! In fact, I’d be inclined to say that this is the Breakfast of Champions!

So here they are…hot and steamy ‘Hershey’ squirts. Aka Carob Kisses



On the cooling rack



On the world’s tiniest plate


I knew that I had to enforce portion control here as most of these were for gifts.But I DID have to try them, you know, for (ahem) quality control purposes.

Cut in half…Mmmmm, moist and very, very delish if I do say so myself…if you don’t believe me, ask the lovely Miss Janetha!


I had the little turd and a mighty maple oatie in my Greek yogurt for a brekkie that held me for hours.

Have I yet mentioned in this post that cat hair is good for the digestion? I mention this in nearly every recipe post :-)

Aww, here they are… in their cute little box for Janetha in which I received Katie’s fudge babies. I’m all about recycling adorable treat-containers. BTW, Please go visit Katie’s site and click your brains out for Operation Chocolate Covered Kindness, yah?

Here’s a slightly fuzzy pic of me and Janetha- sooooo sweet, fun, and cute in person, as predicted!

Then I put the rest in this cool container (love the clamps!)Notice Katie’s fudge baby hearts are each nibbled upon. This is the joy in having a hubby who does not like nuts, coconuts or nut butters!In other words:

THEY’re MINE!! ALL MINE!!
So once again, the accidental baker got lucky. Honestly, these Carob Cacas are cr*ptastically delish and sooo easy to make.

Q: Have you had disasters that turned out to be actually something very cool?Kitchen or otherwise.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lara (Thinspired)
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 05:21:08

    Oh Deb, you are just hilarious. Hershey turds. I love it. And I would totally eat them. They sound marvelous to me. And thanks for the uh, “recipe.” ;)

    Okay, Janetha must be TINY. Because YOU are tiny, ergo she must be SUPER tiny! Cute picture of you both!

  2. VeggieGirl
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 05:25:20

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the recipe!!

    And aww, fun meet up!

  3. Elizabeth
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 06:14:00

    I'm pretty sure I just distracted my co-workers 10 minutes into the day reading this. You make me smile! :-)

    For disasters that turned out well: omigosh, I was mad craving chicken salad (the old school mayo yuckiness)- don't ask why. Anyway, the veggies were fine in it but I couldn't get the right texture/consistency for the “saucy” stuff using fake mayo…well, insert almond sliver, curry powder, tumeric and mandarin oranges.

    Viola! Indian curry reminiscent not-so-bad for you chicken salad. Totally a fam hit now- my cuz makes it all vegan with tofu and it's delish. But, my measurements are similar to yours- whatever sounds good throw in a bowl, mix 'til it looks bright yellow and yummy, let sit for an hour or so, enjoy on brown rice, in a wrap or pita, or just grab a spoon- seriously.

  4. Allie (Protein Girl)
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 07:01:34

    They are soooo cute! Call 'em Reindeer Turds and make them for the holidays. (spike them with rum and give them to your neighbors too)

    I am ridiculously envious of your steamer oven. Please ship it out to me so I can give it a product review.

  5. CCV
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 07:34:10

    Wahoo! More raw treats! And they're so cute! LOL about the turd reference though!

  6. janetha b
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 09:31:52

    hahahahah you had me rolling on the floor with the steamer set up play by play. hahaha. what crazy options! and yum! i can tell you all first hand that these are DELICIOUS!!! they don't look like poop. they look like pimped out hershey kisses :) and i have to say they are not candy since i am not allowed to eat candy until jan 1! ahaha.. or just don't tell marshall ;) do you buy carob powder already roasted? never seen that. your ingredient list and directions crack me up. i love you. and i love the photo of sam staring at the squirts so intensely. thanks again for the treats and i cant wait until we meet again :)

  7. Rhoda
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 10:37:57

    I'm happy to say. I'm a purist: my disasters in the kitchen remain disasters with no apologies.

    I saw the picture and thought Hershey Kisses immediately, no thought of a turd, but then you cut them in half and well….maybe.
    Samantha looked a little conflicted too.

    Anyway, they look wonderful. You are an incredible improv cook/bakerette. I'lm impressed and still laughing at this post.

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 12:27:42

    Love the steamer oven. Wow, impressive!

    Recipes that need to be saved? Yeah, like daily :) Peple are like, oh Averie you're so creative and I'm like, well I had intended x but that wasnt gonna work so it became y.

    I would never throw away food, let alone raw nuts and carob.
    Ok carob. I have 2 bags of raw carob, both were really pricey and I never use it b/c I think it tastes like sweaty feet LOL Perfect metaphor for your buttload post :) which I totally enjoyed!

    So you're saying roasted carob is good?! The one you show, is that from Raw Food website or Amazon or WF? I dont wanna buy any more $ ingredients that I dont like LOL

  9. Bekah
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 13:51:00

    You wanna know what reaaally got me on this post?

    “A medium plop of oats.”

    hahahahahaha. Ohhh goodness, the highlight of my morning (and I already was having a pretty good morning too!)

    I have yet to make some maple oaties (need to) but these look pretty darn good too! yum.. thanks for sharing deb!

  10. Deb (Smoothie Girl Eats Too)
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 15:22:21

    Lara- you just might be the first person on this planet to call me tiny, and for that I adore you.

    Elizabeth- first time commenter? welcome! Ooh! Indian curry chix salad- yummers!

    Allie and Aves, I can't WAIT to jump head first (metaphorically speaking) into that oven. Heard amazing things about steamer ovens esp with chicken and baked goods!

    Aves and Janetha- the stuff I used was ROASTED (vs what the picture shows, raw- that's actually unopened!). The roasted is a-maz-ing. I got it at a health food store. Same exact brand as the one pictured. Not gym-socky at all (in my opinion)

    VG, Beeks and CCV- thanks! And yes, great meetup, twice actually in two days! :-)

    Janetha and Rhoda. Sam is a very deep thinker.

    Janetha- I ADORED meeting you and hanging out- I can't wait for the next time too!

  11. Hayley
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 17:17:06

    I just wanted to drop by, say hi, send you my love an let you know that your little turds look delicious! :) I especially like the idea of eating them in yogurt. :)

  12. Melinda
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 21:10:00

    Love the carob kisses or Hershey turds lol :)

  13. Heather McD (Heather Eats Almond Butter)
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 08:16:29

    I want a carob turd! I think I would love them frozen, and I am so excited about this steamer oven thing – I want to come over and play in your new kitchen.

    I'm sure Janetha is going to love her goodies.

    Did you take those pictures with your iPhone? They turned out great Deb.

  14. Deb (Smoothie Girl Eats Too)
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 13:25:00

    Hayley! Thanks for stopping by!! :-)

    Melinda- welcome! Hope you like the turds!

    HEABers- iphone (best camera I ever owned) was used for the photo of Janetha and I. The rest was my snazzy nikon. :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

