Recipe: Deb’s Crunchy Carob Breakfast Rice Crispy Treat


Hey there peeps! I don’t post recipes that often but here’s an occasion where I wanted to share! I was excited about it as it happened after a couple of kitchen disasters and the result was an accident!

I have read about breakfast cookies made famous by the godmother of b-fast cookies, Fitnessista. I enjoyed Susan’s version and her instructional video- did you know that it takes 7 minutes 10 seconds to prepare a breakfast cookie? Not bad.

I finally decided to hop on the cookie bandwagon and my first attempt at a modification of Susan’s was a total FAIL! I tried to get it to be really huge like hers, but it got so thin and it stuck to the plate. So I ended up with (delicious) crumbs.

Take two: I sprayed cooking spray on the plate, smooshed (is that a word?) the dough in place, popped it in the fridge, then the freezer for a short while, and it was still stuck. Desperate to defrost it, I put it in the microwave. I forgot about it for a minute while multitasking (shocking, I know!) and when came back it was warm, and soft. As I wanted to see if I could get it to crisp up, I stuck it back in the micro for another minute. It slid off the plate with a big “plonk”…yess! I knew that I was going to like this method. For those of you who don’t like the micro, you could put it on some foil and into the oven. Raw foodies, just stick it straight into the freezer or fridge, or dehydrate it.

How the Crunchy Rice Crispy Treat was born:

I tend to be a volume eater, which is why I do so well with smoothies. I wanted to see if I could add something to get a little more “poof” and trick myself into feeling like I was eating more food. I cut the volume of oats in half and at the very end, gently mixed in 1/2 cup of plain brown crisped rice cereal. Simple! I put the dough on wax paper, formed it into the rectanglar shape that we all know and love and then rolled it onto a plate. About 2 minutes in the microwave and the crunchy specimen slid off the plate and into my gullet (well, not the whole thing). It was tasty and held me for a good few hours.

iPhone adjacent so that you can see the size.
Is this the Rice Crispy Treat equivalent of Cow-tipping?

The ingredients:

1/4 cup oats
1 T Peanut Butter (or any nut butter)
1 T. Carob powder (or cocoa powder)
2/3 scoop protein powder (this is what binds it together)
sprinkle stevia (or other sweetener)
water, one T at a time (or any other liquid)
1/2 c crisped brown rice cereal

Method:

  • Mix oats, stevia, carob and protein powder together
  • Mash in the PB all around til it’s broken up and pretty even
  • Slowly add water- one tablespoon at a time until mixture sticks together but has no residual water- go slowly with this
  • Gently fold in rice cereal
  • Mash onto wax paper or foil and form your desired shape (a heart would be cute!)
  • Roll onto plate and microwave for 1.5-2 minutes (or bake or dehydrate if you prefer)

My estimate for this recipe is about 350 calories without any “frostings” or caloric sweeteners.

The finished product- with PB frosting-MMMMmmmmm!
My new fave food: Carob

I like the roasted kind best- I’m putting it in everything from Greek yogurt to oatmeal to the breakfast cookie and shakes. It’s so flavorful that I find you don’t need as much a cocoa powder.

As my arch rival/nemesis/BFF/Protein Goddess, Allie at Pimp My Protein Shake pointed out in her post on carob, it does have twice the calories of cocoa. I CalorieKing’d it for myself (hey, I think I made up a new verb!) and sure enough, carob has 24 cals per T and cocoa has 10-15. Not enough of a difference to stop me you can be sure!

Anyway, you’ll see lots more carob in my future- and I plan to do ccrrazy things with it like add it mole-style (pronounced MOE-lay) to savory dishes. Oh boy, I can’t wait!

FINALLY: THANKS FOR MY GIFTIES!

Do you recognize these? Of COURSE you do!! They are the world famous Fudge Babies- sent to me by the very sweet Chocolate Covered Katie. By the way, she is having a huge charity drive this month. Every time you click on any page in her blog, she will donate all of the proceeds to her favorite pet charity and The Enough Project. The more clicks, the more dinero given to charity. Please check out her site and click with reckless abandon! Thank you Katie!

Then there is the one and only Heather from Heather Eats Almond Butter who sent me her unbelievably fabulous Maple Oaties. Wow, so delish. I read about them but I had NO idea they were THAT good! Really.

HEAB’s Maple Oaties- amazing
I crumbled a HEAB oatie into my Greek yogurt in the almost-empty PB jar AND added the sprinkles that HEABs sent me. It was decadent. It was dinner.
Auntie Heabie sent Samantha some Chicken in a pouch- aren’t you glad I didn’t use the macro lens on this photograph? Mildly interesting yet a bit gross how the late afternoon sun is casting a long shadow off the poop-looking cat food on the right. Auntie Heab’s chicken is on the left. Sam is so spoiled!

Thank you HEABie!

Finally I was asked to do a Guestie on Janetha’s fabulous blog, Meals & Moves. Go check it out here. She’s a lot of fun and her blog is fantastic. Fingers crossed we’ll be having a meetup in SF over the weekend! So excited!
I’m taking a little break from Flashback fridays but I’ll have more lined up in the future! Have a great weekend everyone and check back for the weekend smoothie-it’s a good one!
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erika
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 20:26:45

    OOh, the carob crispy bar looks great! I am going to check out your guest post now, I am sure it is fantastic!

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 21:14:25

    CArob treat is like the healthy version of a rice (cocoa) krispie treat….love it!

    glad you learned stuff bout me on my guestie on Janetha's, can't wait to see your post! I am gonna repost mine on my site sometime when i need a post to use…

    Oaties? Delish looking! Ive made em based on HEABs recipe but hers look amazing.

    Katie's treats…divine. I made some fudge ball action today that I am posting in a few days.

    Food Buzz, are you going or just to SF? I have a child. I cannot go. I am sad b/c I wish I could. Priority is my child though and being with her…sigh. In a future yr i will make it to a convention :)

    xoox

  3. Deb (Smoothie Girl Eats Too)
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 21:18:57

    Erika & Aves- I don't think the guestie is up as of 8.16pm. :-) She will post it later. Sorry, I had another blogger-uckup (did I say that?) and it posted when I asked (very very nicely) for it to post at 12.01 tomorrow. Ugh.

    Aves- Food Buzz. Ironically I'll be in SF for another reason and not paying $350 to go to FB. I'm not a “publisher” so no free lunch (sorry food blogger humor!) for moi!

  4. Susan
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 04:54:50

    Deb my dear, you are a GENIUS!! I love this! The volume, the crisp, the chocolateyness ;) I'll have to try it for one of my morning shifts this weekend.

    P.S. I always scrape the cookie off and flip it over before I stick it in the freezer so it doesn't stick to the plate ;)

  5. VeggieGirl
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 05:17:16

    Holy yum carob!

  6. Abby
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 06:37:59

    What a great haul of gifts! Fun times for you and the mailman (ha ha…that didn't sound quite right.)

    Anyway, I commented on your guest post, but I'll tell you again that I loved it.

  7. Allie (Protein Girl)
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:00:56

    Yummy! You should definitely post more recipes if you're going to dream up those yummies!

    (And thanks for the shout out. I'm blushing. Either that or I put on my makeup in the dark…)

    Averie, maybe next year we'll all be super famous food bloggers and we can bring our nannies with us to FoodBuzz for free lunch! Or maybe Deb will babysit? (hahahahaha)

  8. ChocolateCoveredVegan
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:06:43

    Ooh your crispy treats look yummy, Deb!

    And you deserve a million fudge babies ;).

    To answer your question, the enough project IS my pet charity where I'm sending the money.

    Love,
    Katie

  9. Katie
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:20:06

    Alright, you have my heart.

    I just found your blog on Janetha's guest post (I agree with all that you said, she's an awesome lady) – and then clicked over to your blog to find breakfast cookies (with crisp!), and lots of chocolate-y, oatie goodness. I'm hooked.

  10. Bekah
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:26:56

    Ah, one day, I hope to also attend the FB festival. I believe foodbuzz is how I found all these food and fitness bloggerss. And yay for that.

    I also made my first breakfast cookie! (Success.) ;);) But your rice crispy looks pretty good as well.

  11. Heather McD (Heather Eats Almond Butter)
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 10:15:04

    So wish I could be in San Fran right now!!!!

    Oaties – so glad you liked them, and Katie's Fudge Babies too? You scored. So, how did Sam enjoy her chicken pooh? :)

    Great recipe Deb – reminds me of those crunchy Myoplex bars I used to eat back in my Body For Life Days, except much better ingredients. Smoothie Girl is brilliant.

    Carob powder – love it, and I agree, the roasted stuff is much betta than the raw!

  12. Michelle
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 12:32:05

    Hello hello Deb!! I'm so glad to have found your blog through Janetha's guest post!! Your story sounds SO similar to mine, and I am also going through daily battles to maintain my 60 pounds weight loss. It's no joke that it is a daily battle and that it isn't easy. I actually gained back more weight than I'm happy with even though I'm at a normal weight. I hope to keep reading and keep being inspired by your progress and great eats!

    thanks for sharing your recipe! It really does look incredible!!

  13. Rhoda
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 12:38:13

    Ooooh, what a good recipe. Made my tummy growl. A must try.

    Loved your guest tribute to Janetha. She seems like one terrific lady.

    I know someone else like that, hmmm, I wonder who.

  14. homecookedem
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 14:21:50

    Those carob treats look wonderful!! Thanks for sharing!! :)

    You LUCKY DUCK to get some HEAB maple oaties!! :) Enjoy!!

  15. Thinspired
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 01:19:09

    OK–I don't know if it's your blog or my reader, but I didn't get this post in my reader and instead got the Costco one. What happened to that post? I wanted to comment!

    I've heard Heabie's cookies are amazing. Jealous. Eat one for me!

    Loved your guest post on M&M. Hope you guys get to meet up.

  16. Deb (Smoothie Girl Eats Too)
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 10:50:41

    Welcome Katie and Michelle (and many congrats on the weight loss!)! I'll try to post more recipes to keep you coming back :-) Actually have one for next week that's also yum.

    Susan- thanks for that priceless tip- WIll practice much more!! :-)

    Allie- check out twitter re. babysitting :-)

    Rho- Janetha IS a special lady and I just got to spend the last two days finding that out for myself :-)

    THinny- sorry about the Costco post- it's it the queue right now. ARRRGGGHHH on Blogger yet again.

  17. Hayley
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 13:34:22

    Ohhhh holy yumm….these look incredible! I've never tried carob before but I keep seeing it appear on others' blogs. I must give it a go sometime!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

